Muskie Discussion Forums

Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes | Language | Blogs Search | Statistics | User Listing
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )
Moderators: Slamr

View previous thread :: View next thread
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [30 messages per page]

Muskie Fishing -> General Discussion -> Big fish lost boatside

Message Subject: Big fish lost boatside
nmazzino
Posted 9/7/2017 7:28 AM (#876856)
Subject: Big fish lost boatside

Hello all, I am still relatively new to musky fishing. This is my 2nd full year so I am still learning some tactics. Yesterday morning I had a large fish (probably 43-45") crush my bucktail boat side just as I was about to figure 8. It was thrashing uncontrollably for a few seconds while my fishing partner was grabbing the net. Just as he was about to net it, the fish spit the hook.

I have heard/read that when you have a fish hit that close to the boat or on a figure 8 you should open your bail and just thumb drag so there is not as much tension for the fish to thrash or put your rod in the water so the fish cannot thrash on top of the water and spit the hook.

What are your guy's thoughts on this? Any other tips in situations like this?

Thanks!
Rainman JD
Posted 9/7/2017 7:31 AM (#876857 - in reply to #876856)
Subject: Re: Big fish lost boatside

I typically will put my rod down in the water to try to get the muskie's head below the surface where I feel it is less likely to throw the hooks. However, it's inevitable that you're going to lose fish regardless of what you do there. Sometimes they just get off.

Edited by Rainman JD 9/7/2017 7:33 AM
ToddM
Posted 9/7/2017 7:37 AM (#876858 - in reply to #876856)

Yep, rod down and thumb on the spool in freespool. At this point you are really just keeping tension on the fish until the net is ready. It is still not a guarentee but helps keep fish pinned especially if the are not hooked well.
btfish
Posted 9/7/2017 7:47 AM (#876860 - in reply to #876858)