Muskie Discussion Forums

Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes | Language | Blogs Search | Statistics | User Listing
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )
Moderators: Slamr

View previous thread :: View next thread
Jump to page : 1 2 3 4
Now viewing page 4 [30 messages per page]

Muskie Fishing -> General Discussion -> If you had to do it all again...

Message Subject: If you had to do it all again...
Beaver
Posted 2/2/2018 12:00 PM (#891102 - in reply to #891092)
Subject: Re: If you had to do it all again...

I didn't go to college. I started working the day after I graduated from high school and fished every weekend and used all of my vacation for fishing. I stayed at that job for over 30 years. Those 30 years of hard work led to the back and body problems that still persist to this day. I rarely fish for muskies now. It is just too hard on me physically, so I find comfortable ways to fish for other, more catchable species. But I fished long hours in all kinds of conditions when I was young. I put up with weekend traffic and weekend pressure for a day and a half of fishing for many years. I was forced to retire when my back pain became chronic and unbearable. It's been more than 10 years, and believe me, I miss the days of my youth when there was always something to do and somewhere to go. My daughter is in college and is staying another year so she can graduate with a double major. I see how hard she works and how little time she has for herself and I feel sorry for her. When I was her age, I had my own place, my own car and a paycheck every other Friday. I worked hard, but I also enjoyed myself. The world was different then. Lots of people I knew didn't go to college because you could go out and find a good paying steady job at one of the manufacturing places around here. Life was good. Those places are either much smaller or gone. The lack of jobs makes it tougher on the graduating class of 2017 than it was for the class of '73. That being said, do