Newby question. Figure 8 on each cast?
GFishes
Posted 5/18/2016 7:29 AM (#817484)
Subject: Newby question. Figure 8 on each cast?

Hi all, I have a beginner question. I'm a lifelong smallmouth and walleye fisherman and I am just learning the ropes with Muskie. I was watching some fishing shows (Linder's show) on youtube. I noticed that many anglers do some form of a figure 8 at the end of each cast. Even if a fish is not visible. Is this common practice? Is this what I should be doing because they are often lurking out of sight? I know about doing the motion if I have a fish in pursuit.

-Greg

Edited by GFishes 5/18/2016 7:40 AM
burningdubs
Posted 5/18/2016 7:38 AM (#817485 - in reply to #817484)
Subject: Re: Newby question. Figure 8 on each cast?

I do it every cast, have had them hit my bait from under the boat on the turn. Those fish I would have not caught if I had not. They can also a appear very fast.
KenK
Posted 5/18/2016 7:41 AM (#817486 - in reply to #817484)

Do it every cast! Sometimes you don't see them coming at all.
Lumpy
Posted 5/18/2016 7:48 AM (#817488 - in reply to #817484)

If you aren't planning to do a boatside move until you see the fish, then that usually will result in you lunging towards the fish, and spooking it. I imagine that I have a fish on my bait at all times, and I setup each retrieve so that I'm prepared to execute a proper 8/oval on every cast. Setting your bait up for an 8/oval begins before the bait gets to the boat, depending on bait, it may begin halfway through the retrieve. Once you force yourself to do this on every cast, it starts to become second nature. My boat partner missed one last night b/c he got into the trance of doing a half lazy L at the boat, and a fish came out of nowhere and smoked his bait, but he was not mentally there anymore for that cast, and he never even got hooks into it. The GoPro footage will be great for me to show him.
Slamr
Posted 5/18/2016 9:38 AM (#817496 - in reply to #817484)